The “Tamil Nadu Cricket Team” is a regional cricket team representing the Tamil Nadu State in India. For decades, the southern state of Tamil Nadu has been a fertile ground for its aspiring cricketers. Cricket is more than a sport in Chennai, as evident by the huge fan base of Chennai Super Kings, the IPL's most popular team. In a few decades, the state has produced some graceful individuals as classy top-order batsmen as well as fast bowlers. Making a top five list of Tamil Nadu cricketers is an arduous undertaking because there are so many in number to choose from. Below is a list of the top 10 cricketers from Tamil Nadu, compiled after examining their statistics and effect.

1. T Natarajan

Thangarasu Natarajan, an Indian cricketer, was born on April 4, 1991. In December 2020, he made his debut in international cricket for India. In the Indian Premier League, he represents the Sunrisers Hyderabad, while in domestic cricket, he represents the state of Tamil Nadu. When he played in India's 2020–21 tour of Australia, he made history by becoming the first Indian cricketer to make his international debut in all three forms on the same tour.

2. Washington Sundar 

Washington Sundar is an Indian cricketer who was born on October 5, 1999. He is a left-handed batsman and a right-arm off-spinner bowler. He was an all-rounder for the Indian national under-19 cricket squad. He debuted for India against Sri Lanka on December 13, 2017. With the Rising Pune Supergiants team, he made his IPL debut in 2017. He has been a Royal Challengers Bangalore player since 2018.

3. Ravichandran Ashwin 

Ravichandran Ashwin is an Indian cricketer who was born on September 17, 1986. Ashwin, a right-handed batsman, and a right-arm off-break bowler is now the world's second-best Test bowler. In domestic cricket, he represents the state of Tamil Nadu, while in the Indian Premier League, he represents the Delhi Capitals team. In terms of innings played, he is the fastest Indian bowler (and according to some statistics, the joint-fastest bowler in the world) to reach the 50, 100, 150, 200, 250, 300, 350 and 400-wicket mark in Test cricket.  He won the ICC Cricketer of the Year title for the third time in 2016, becoming the third Indian to do so.

4. Murli Vijay

Murali Vijay, an Indian cricketer who plays as a right-handed opening batsman, was born on April 1, 1984. He was a regular member of the Indian Test team till 2018 and currently plays first-class cricket for Tamil Nadu. Vijay began playing cricket at the age of 17 and before being selected for the Tamil Nadu Under-22 squad, he played club cricket in Chennai. In 2006, he made his first-class debut for the Tamil Nadu senior team after quickly rising through the ranks. He was one of the most prolific run scorers in the Ranji Trophy match in 2006-07, his first-class debut event. After Gautam Gambhir, the team's usual opener was suspended for one match by the ICC in November 2008, he was given the chance for his Test debut.

5. Dinesh Karthik

Dinesh Karthik, an Indian professional cricketer and the current vice-captain of the Kolkata Knight Riders was born on June 1, 1985. In addition, he is the captain of the Tamil Nadu Cricket Team. In 2004, he made his debut in the Indian cricket team. He scored his first Test century against Bangladesh and was India's top scorer during their Test tour of England, helping the country win its first series in England in 21 years. Since then, he has only made infrequent international appearances, although continuing to score successfully at home. In the Indian Premier League, he holds the record for the most catches taken by a wicketkeeper, breaking MS Dhoni's previous mark.

6. Vijay Shankar 

Vijay Shankar is an Indian cricketer who has represented his country at the international level. He was born on January 26, 1991. He is a right-handed batsman as well as a right-arm medium pace bowler. He was included in India's squad for the 2019 Cricket World Cup in April 2019.

7. Robin Singh

Robindra Ramnarine "Robin" Singh is a former Indian cricketer. Between 1989 and 2001, Robin played one Test and 136 One-Day Internationals for India as an all-rounder. Since 2010, he has coached the Mumbai Indians of the Indian Premier League and the Barbados Tridents of the Caribbean Premier League. He has also guided the Deccan Chargers in the debut season of the IPL. He was recognized as a stand out player for his serenity and capacity to execute under pressure. He introduced world-class fielding to Indian cricket.

8. Murali Kartik

Murali Kartik, an Indian cricket analyst and a former cricketer who occasionally represented the national team from 2000 to 2007, was born on September 11, 1976. He is a slow left-arm orthodox bowler known for his loopy trajectory and spin and bounce skills. He is also a left-handed batsman, and despite 19 half-centuries in first-class cricket, he hasn't been able to replicate that success at the international level.

9. Kris Srikkanth

Rishnamachari Srikkanth, better known as Kris Srikkanth, was born on December 21, 1959, and is a former captain of the Indian cricket team and a former chairman of the selection committee. He was a key contributor to India's victory in the 1983 Cricket World Cup, scoring 38 runs as the highest scorer. He is also a Star Sports Tamil commentator.

10. Srinivas Venkataraghavan

Srinivasaraghavan Venkataraghavan is a former Indian cricketer who was born on April 21, 1945. He served as a captain in the Indian cricket team in the first two ICC Cricket World Cups and then joined the International Cricket Council's Test panel as an umpire. From 1973 to 1975, he also represented Derbyshire in English county cricket. In 2003, he was given the Padma Shri award, a prize of civilian honour.