There are many religions in India. Cricket is considered one of the religions. The players are treated as God by their fans. Cricket has provided a sort of advancement to many in India. Fans look up to their favorite players and the struggle that they have been through in their past. This trend was set up by Kapil Dev, who came from a small-town Chandigarh, who made it big in his life. MS Dhoni- A ticket collector from Ranchi went on to win the World Cup twice. Virendra Sehwag, who came from the dusty lanes of Nafarganj, made his city proud. It does not matter where you belong unless your achievements are as you had dreamt.
Here we will talk about the top ten Indian Cricket players who have won the most National awards for making India proud.

1. Sachin Tendulkar

“God of Cricket” is a name that needs no introduction throughout the globe. Sachin played his debut match against Pakistan in 1989 at the age of 16. Little did the world knew that this boy would one day become the greatest legend of the game. Additionally, he has won many awards and achievements in his name.
He got the Arjuna award in 1994, Major Dhyanchand Khel Ratna in 1997-98, following by Padma Shri and Padma Vibhushan in 1999 and 2008 respectively. And also honored with the Bharat Ratna in 2014.

2. Virat Kohli

When we talk about the greatest batsmen of the Indian cricket team in the current generation, Virat Kohli has to be on top. He is considered to be the best batsman of this modern era.
He made his ODI debut in 2008, and till now, he has been honored with three national awards so far.
Kohli received the Arjuna award in 2013, followed by the Padma Shri in 2017 and the Major Dhyanchand Khel Ratna in 2018, and many more to achieve.

3. Mahendra Singh Dhoni

Mahendra Singh Dhoni, the tactician who is left with nothing more to achieve.. He has won all three ICC Limited-overs trophies. He is also considered an effective finisher in limited-over formats. Dhoni was conferred the rank of honorary Lieutenant-Colonel in the Indian Territorial Army in 2011 for his contribution to Indian cricket.
In 2007-08, Dhoni was honored with Major Dhyanchand Khel Ratna, following by the Padma Shri in 2009 and Padma Bhushan in 2018.

4. Rahul Dravid

Rahul Dravid, with no weakness, was a nightmare for bowlers. His ability to hang on the pitch against any bowling lineup has made him a strong player. No doubt why he was called ‘The Great Wall of India.’
With his captaincy skills, he became the ‘Mr. Dependable’ of the Indian team. He is considered the perfect batsman in the world of cricket.

Rahul received the Arjuna award in 1998, followed by the Padma Shri in 2004 and the Padma Bhushan in 2013.

5. Kapil Dev

Kapil Dev was one of the Indian cricket’s greatest ever servants- a champion like no other. He became renowned for his fast bowling at a time when India hadn’t produced any fast bowlers. Dev was called to be the ‘Legend of Indian cricket’.
He has been honored with the Arjuna award 1979-80, the Padma Shri in 1982, and the Padma Bhushan in 1991. He had also conferred the rank of Lieutenant Colonel in the Indian Territorial Army in 2008.

6. Anil Kumble

A hard worker Anil Kumble and his tough-as-nails attitude towards the game always stood strong. ‘Jumbo’ Kumble was an unorthodox spinner and perhaps, India’s ever significant match-winner. He was also nicknamed ‘Apple.’ He is the fourth-highest wicket-taker of all time in Tests and one of the most successful bowlers in Indian cricket history.
Kumble was honored with the Arjuna award in 1995 and the Padma Shri in 2005 by the government of India.

7. Sourav Ganguly

Sourav Ganguly is India’s most successful test captain. Though his record has been broken by MS Dhoni, people still believe him to be the best captain India has ever produced. He has many nicknames like- ‘Dada’, ‘Prince of Calcutta’, ‘Maharaja’, and ‘Lord of the off Side’. Ganguly did a great job in building a team.
He has been awarded the Arjuna award in 1997 and the Padma Shri in 2004.

8. Virendra Sehwag

Virendra Sehwag, fondly known as Viru, was invincible on the field. He was one of the most destructive batsmen of all time. His list of records and achievements is infinite. He was also known as ‘Nawab of Nafarganj’ by his fans. Sehwag made his ODI debut in 1999. Sehwag had an extremely attacking batting style, and in 2005, he was described as “the most exciting opener in the world.” He has numerous national and international records in his name.
Viru was honored with the Arjuna award in 2002, followed by the Padma Shri in 2010.

9. Yuvraj Sing

Yuvraj Singh is still counted among the best left-handed batsmen that the world has ever encountered. He was the first superstar of Indian cricket in the 21st century. He was known for his dedication. Yuvi even fought cancer and made a comeback like a champion to serve the Indian cricket team. Yuvraj is known to have an aggressive style of play, as seen by his strike rate. In addition,  he was also known as the ‘King of sixes of India’ for hitting six sixes in an over in the T20 World Cup.
Yuvi received the Arjuna award in 2012 and the Padma Shri in 2014.

10. VVS Laxman

Vangipurappu Venkata Sai Laxman is a former Indian batsman, who led his country to many memorable victories.  For his elegant Strokeplay, he was even set side by side to Sachin. He is known as ‘the God of 4th-innings’ for his attainments. Additionally, known as‘Very Very Special Laxman’ for his name VVS Laxman. He has also been popular for his technically sound and aggressive style.
The government of India conferred Laxman with the Arjuna award in 2001 and the Padma Shri in 2011 by the government of India.