Indian Premier League helped many talents to show their A-game. So many players have come out of IPL and made a name for themselves. Players like Virat Kohli, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Rishabh Pant, and many more emerged from the IPL and later became big names in Indian cricket. An IPL final brings a lot of joy and energy to the audience that supported their team throughout the tournament. Here we look at the cricketers who won the man-of-the-match award in the first ten years of the IPL final (2008 to 2017).

1. Yusuf Pathan (2008)

The former India all-rounder plied his trade for Rajasthan Royals in the first edition of the Indian Premier League. The elder of the Pathan brothers made his debut in international cricket in the final of the inaugural T20 World Cup. In the IPL 2008 final against Chennai Super Kings, Pathan first picked up three wickets in the first innings and then scored 56 runs while chasing the target to lead his team to victory.

2. Anil Kumble (2009)

Kumble is the only player in the IPL final history to win the player-of-the-match award in a losing cause. He was the captain of Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2009 and won the toss to field first against the Deccan Chargers. Kumble picked up four crucial wickets while giving away only 16 runs. Still, his side lost the match by six runs.

3. Suresh Raina (2010)

Suresh Raina was a mainstay of the Chennai Super Kings team for many years. In 2010, the CSK side qualified for the final and faced Mumbai Indians. It was the second time Chennai made it to the IPL final. After winning the toss, Chennai skipper Dhoni chose to bat first. Raina was the top scorer for his team with an unbeaten 57 off 35 balls laced with three fours and three sixes. Raina picked up the wicket of Harbhajan Singh in the second innings to guide CSK to their first IPL title win.

4. Murali Vijay (2011)

Murali Vijay was one of the best opening batters Chennai Super Kings ever had. Vijay top-scored with 95 off 52 balls, including four fours and six maximums in the 2011 IPL final. He stitched an opening partnership with Mike Hussey for 159 runs. It mattered the most as CSK went past Royal Challengers Bangalore to win the IPL title for the second successive year. They won the match by 58 runs.

5. Manvinder Bisla (2012)

Manvinder Bisla played for Kolkata Knight Riders in the 2012 IPL. He was not a permanent member for previous matches but came as a replacement for Brendon McCullum. After losing the toss, Gambhir’s men bowled first. Chennai scored 190 runs in their innings. Bisla launched an onslaught in the second innings by scoring 89 runs in 48 deliveries, including eight fours and five sixes. His contribution stopped CSK from achieving their third consecutive title and helped KKR become IPL champions for the first time.

6. Kieron Pollard (2013)

The dashing all-rounder from the West Indies helped Mumbai Indians win their first IPL title in 2013. Mumbai Indians captain Rohit Sharma won the toss and batted first. They scored 148 runs, and Pollard contributed the most with 60 runs off 32 balls, including seven fours and three sixes. He took a wicket in the second innings that helped Mumbai Indians clinch the IPL title for the first time by 23 runs against Chennai Super Kings.

7. Manish Pandey (2014)

IPL 2014 final included Kolkata Knight Riders, who won the title in 2012, and Kings XI Punjab. Kolkata captain Gautam Gambhir won the toss and decided to bowl first. Kings XI Punjab made 199 runs in the first innings thanks to a brilliant unbeaten 115 by Wriddhiman Saha. In reply, KKR made merry of the target due to Manish Pandey’s brilliant 94. In the end, it mattered the most as KKR won the IPL title for the second time.

8. Rohit Sharma (2015)

The captain of Mumbai Indians helped his team become champions for the second time in 2015. Their opposition was Chennai Super Kings, who won the toss and fielded first. CSK paid the price as Mumbai scored 202 runs thanks to Lendl Simmons’ 68 and Rohit Sharma’s 50, consisting of six fours and two maximums. In reply, CSK made only 161 runs in the second innings that helped Mumbai beat them for the second IPL title after winning against the same opposition two years earlier.

9. Ben Cutting (2016)

Ben cutting was not a regular fixture in the Sunrisers Hyderabad team in 2016, but he created the impact in the IPL final that no one did before. In the 2016 IPL final against Royal Challengers Bangalore, SRH won the toss and batted first. The toss helped SRH as they scored 208 runs in the first innings thanks to Warner’s 69 and Ben Cutting’s onslaught. Cutting scored an unbeaten 39 off 15 deliveries, including three fours and four hits outside the fence. SRH’s bowling made sure to restrict RCB to 200 runs and win their first IPL title by eight runs.

10. Krunal Pandya (2017)

The two most deserved teams qualified for the 2017 IPL final- Rising Pune Supergiant and Mumbai Indians. In the previous three matches between the two sides, Pune came out on top every time. After winning the toss, Rohit Sharma’s Mumbai Indians made 129 runs thanks to Krunal Pandya’s innings of 47 off 38 balls, including three fours and two sixes. His contribution helped the side win their third IPL title as they toppled the opposition by just one run.