The best two teams of an IPL edition end up getting into the finals. Each edition, the summit clash garners high expectations. We will now have a look at teams getting qualified to finals, the most.

1. Chennai Super Kings

Chennai Super Kings have been consistent in reaching the IPL finals right since the first season. They have been the most successful side in IPL history after Mumbai Indians. Chennai Super Kings qualified for the finals 9 times in 2008, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2018, 2019 and 2021.

2. Mumbai Indians

Mumbai Indians has a high success rate when it comes to IPL finals. They have lost only one final, which was 2010, the first time they qualified for an IPL final. Mumbai Indians has been the most successful unit in IPL. Mumbai Indians qualified for the finals 6 times in 2010, 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019 and 2020.

3. Royal Challengers Bangalore

Royal Challengers Bangalore have been an underperforming side for years. Every year, they have been known to assemble a side of superstars and yet they fail to win the trophy. Especially in the 2016 season, they had Virat Kohli with the best IPL season for a batsman and yet they lost the finals by a close margin. Royal Challengers Bangalore qualified for the finals 3 times in 2009, 2011 and 2016.

4. Kolkata Knight Riders

Kolkata Knight Riders had a consistent run since Gautam Gambhir took over the captaincy. They won the title twice, in 2012 and 2014. They also managed to reach the playoffs multiple times. In the 2014 edition, they were looking set to reach the Eliminator when a splendid knock from Yusuf Pathan put them on Qualifier 1 which immensely helped them win the trophy Kolkata Knight Riders qualified for the finals 3 times in 2012, 2014 and 2021.

5. Sunrisers Hyderabad

Sunrisers Hyderabad had a good run since 2016 to 2020, qualifying for playoffs every time. They won a close finals match against Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2016. In 2018 edition, they reached the finals but ended up losing the match due to a brutal Shane Watson assault. Sunrisers Hyderabad qualified for the finals 2 times in 2016 and 2018.

6. Rajasthan Royals

Rajasthan dominated the league stage in the inaugural edition in 2008. They ended up first in the league stage, went on to finals and also became the champions. However, after that it had been one disappointment after another, as they failed to reach the finals for the next 14 years and finally got to the final of IPL 2022. They lost that match though. Rajasthan Royals qualified for the finals 2 times in 2008 and 2022.

7. Deccan Chargers

Deccan Chargers won the IPL 2009 defeating Royal Challengers Bangalore in the final in a close contest. They also reached the playoffs next edition. However, the next two seasons were disappointing from their end and then the franchise was disbanded. Especially in the 2012 edition, they lost their first 5 matches and had a terrible season overall. Deccan Chargers qualified for the finals 1 time in 2009.

8. Punjab Kings

Punjab Kings have disappointed to quite some extent but in the 2014 season, they were thoroughly dominating the league stage and they ended up topping the group. They then proceeded to reach the finals where they lost to Kolkata Knight Riders. Punjab Kings qualified for the finals 1 time in 2014.

9. Rising Pune Super Giant

Rising Pune Super Giant is one of the two teams that played in 2016 and 2017, to replace Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals. In the 2017 edition, they were second in the league stage and won the Qualifier 1 to reach the finals. They lost the finals though Rising Pune Super Giant qualified for the finals 1 time in 2017.

10. Delhi Capitals

Of the teams to play since the inception of IPL, Delhi Capitals was the last team to qualify for an IPL final. In the initial years, they managed to reach playoffs and then get eliminated there. From there on though, they managed to put up one poor performance after another. It took them ages before reaching another playoff and eventually the finals. When they did reach the finals in 2020, they lost quite significantly. Delhi Capitals qualified for the finals 1 time in 2020.