Batting in T20I has become synonymous with hitting boundaries. Spectators dish out a lot of money and the batters hitting the ball out of the park only justifies that money. Everyone likes to take the trouble of moving their neck continuously to spot the ball in the air. In the T20 World Cup history, some batters went bonkers in some matches. They connected the ball every now and then to hit big sixes. Listed below are the Top 10 Most Sixes In Men’s T20 World Cup Match-

 1. Chris Gayle (11)

It was evident that this man was going to be on the top spot on this list. This Jamaica-born West Indies batter was at his smashing best against England in Mumbai in 2016. England batted first to post 182/6. In the second inning, West Indies chased down the target quickly courtesy of Chris Gayle’s swashbuckling 100*. In this knock, he smashed 11 sixes and 5 fours to destroy English bowlers. This was the fastest T20 World Cup century. This century also made him the only player to score 2 T20 World Cup centuries.

2. Chris Gayle (10)

This was the first match of the inaugural 2007 T20 World Cup. This match between West Indies and the host team South Africa was held in Johannesburg. South Africa won the toss and opted to field first. West Indies opener Chris Gayle smashed the first-ever century of the T20 World Cup history. He hit 7 fours and 10 sixes to score 117 runs from 57 balls. He helped his team post 205/6. But South Africa won the match by 8 wickets.

3. Yuvraj Singh (7)

India clashed with England in the 2007 T20 World Cup in Durban. In the first innings, Chris Tremlett dismissed Robin Uthappa in the 17th over. That brought Yuvraj Singh to play. After some heated exchange of words with Andrew Flintoff, Yuvraj smashed young Stuart Broad for 6 sixes in the penultimate over. He became the first-ever cricketer to do so in T20I cricket. He smashed Flintoff for another six in the next over. He smashed the fastest fifty (12 balls) in T20Is, which is a record he still holds.

4. David Warner (7)

Australia played against India in 2010 in Bridgetown. India won the toss and chose to chase the target. Australian top-order breathed fire to post 184/5. David Warner scored a 42-ball-72 (2 fours, 7 sixes). Shane Watson smashed 54 in 32 balls while one-down batter David Hussey scored a 22-ball-35. Australia won the match by 49 runs. Warner was chosen as the Man of the Match for his batting and taking a catch.

5. Chris Gayle (7)

Chris Gayle displayed another sensational batting performance against India in Bridgetown in 2010. Batting first, Gayle smashed a 66-ball-98 (5 fours, 7 sixes) to help his team post 169/6. Gayle later took a crucial wicket of Suresh Raina. West Indies won the match by 14 runs.

6. Brendon McCullum (7)

Pallekele International Cricket Stadium hosted a match between New Zealand and Bangladesh in the 2012 T20 World Cup. Bangladesh won the toss and asked New Zealand to bat first. Bangladesh did very well to restrict 3 of the 4 New Zealand batters. But the No. 3 batter Brendon McCullum single-handedly destroyed the opposition bowlers. He scored a quickfire 123 from just 58 balls with the help of 11 fours and 7 sixes.

7. Shane Watson (7)

India and Australia clashed in 2012 at R. Premadasa Stadium in Colombo. India won the toss and chose bat first. Shane Watson picked up 3 wickets to restrict India to 140/7. In reply, Australia chased down the target comfortably with 9 wickets to spare. Openers David Warner (63*) and Watson (72 off 42) set up an easy win with their opening stand of 133 in 13.3 overs. Watson’s inning was laced with 2 fours and 7 sixes.

8. Stephan Myburgh (7)

It was a do-or-die match for both Ireland and the Netherlands. A win would take Ireland to the Super 10 stage of the 2014 T20 World Cup. In comparison, the Netherlands needed a win big enough to take their run rate over Zimbabwe. Ireland batted first and posted 189/4. The Netherlands needed to chase the target within 14.2 overs to qualify. And they did it in style!!! 5 batters scored at a strike rate of over 180. Peter Borren (31 off 15), Stephan Myburgh (63 off 23), Wesley Barresi (40* off 22), Tom Cooper (45 off 15), and Ben Cooper (9* off 5) combined and completed an unbelievable victory for their team. Myburgh smashed 4 fours and 7 sixes.

9. Martin Guptill (7)

New Zealand needed a victory after losing their previous match in 2021 against Pakistan. In this match against Scotland in Dubai, Scotland chose to field first. Opener Martin Guptill scored a brilliant 56-ball-93 to power New Zealand to 172/5. Guptill used 6 fours and 7 sixes to get to the mark. New Zealand eventually won the match by 16 runs.

10. Justin Kemp (6)

In 2007, hosts South Africa played against New Zealand in Durban. Craig McMillan’s 25-ball-48* powered New Zealand to 153/8 in the first inning. In reply, Justin Kemp led South Africa to a 6-wicket victory with his knock of 89* off 56 balls. Kemp smashed 6 fours and 6 sixes in this knock.