Playing an ICC tournament is a dream for many cricketers. They work hard every day to get selected for their national team and represent their nation at one of the biggest platforms in the game. There are currently four ICC tournaments that cricket-playing countries play. The ICC Cricket World Cup, ICC Champions Trophy, ICC T20 World Cup, and ICC Test Championship. Representing their nation in even one of these events is an excellent achievement for the players. But what is even more appreciable. When a player wins the Player of the tournament of such a prestigious event, here is the list of ten such cricketers who won this prestigious Player of the tournament award in an ICC tournament.

1. Kevin Pietersen

Kevin Pietersen has been one of the most decorated batsmen for England. His performance in ICC events is also appreciable. He won the Player of the Tournament award in the 2010 edition of the T20 World Cup. England won the tournament, and he was one of the main reasons. Kevin played six matches and scored 248 runs with an average of 62 and a healthy strike rate of 137. His performance also included two half-centuries.

2. Mitchell Starc

Mitchell Starc is one of the most dangerous left-handed bowlers that Australia has produced. He is known for his unplayable toe crushers and a vicious inswinging yorker. Starc completely dominated the bowling department in the ICC 2015 Cricket World Cup. He was almost unplayable, and he picked up 22 wickets in just eight matches to dominate the bowling charts and had a tremendous average of 10.18 with the ball. He won the Player of the tournament for his performance, and Australia won the World Cup for the fifth time.

3. Virat Kohli

The First-ever Player to win the Player of the tournament in back-to-back T20 World cups. Virat Kohli has shown the world time and again that he is the best in the game currently. Virat had a great tournament in the 2014 edition of the T20 world cup, where Virat single-handedly took India to the finals. He scored 319 runs in just six games with an enormous average of 106.33 and registered four half-centuries to his name in the process. However, India lost the finals, but Virat got adjudged as the Player of the tournament. He repeated his performance and earned the Player of the match in the very next edition of the T20 world cup held in 2016, where he scored 273 runs in just five games with a sensational average of 136.50.

4. Hasan Ali

Hasan Ali won the Player of the tournament in the 2017 edition of the ICC Champions Trophy. Pakistan was struggling early in this tournament, but Hasan Ali brought his team to win the title from absolutely nowhere. Hasan took the most wickets in that tournament. He took 13 wickets in five matches at an average of 14.69.

5. Kane Williamson

The New Zealand skipper achieved this tremendous feat in the 2019 edition of the ICC Cricket World Cup. He played one of the most vital roles in bringing the kiwis to the tournament's finals. However, New Zealand lost the finals on the boundary count rule, but Williamson won the Player of the Tournament award for his terrific performance. In ten games, he scored 578 runs with an average of 82.57, including two centuries and two half-centuries.

6. Yuvraj Singh

Yuvraj Singh was the key asset of the Indian team who helped India win both the ICC T20 world cup and ICC cricket world cup. Yuvraj won the Player of the tournament in the famous 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup. He scored 362 runs in nine matches averaging more than 90, including one century and four half-centuries. He also took 15 wickets with the ball.

7. Shikhar Dhawan

Shikhar Dhawan has displayed throughout the year. Dhawan's performance helped the young Indian side win the ICC Champions Trophy in 2013. In just five matches, Dhawan scored 363 runs at an average of 90.75, including two centuries and a half-century. He was the highest run-getter of the tournament and won the Player of the game, a feat which he will remember forever.

8. Sachin Tendulkar

The God of Cricket had a terrific run in the 2003 ICC Cricket World Cup. He took India to the finals with his outstanding performance. Won the Player of the tournament for his performance in that tournament. He scored 673 runs in just eleven innings with an average of 61.18, which consisted of a century and six half-centuries in the competition. However, India lost in the finals against Australia, but Sachin's record 673 runs is the highest in any ICC event to date.

9. Glenn Mcgrath

Glenn Mcgrath has been one of the best bowlers in world cricket. He was crucial in both limited-overs and Test matches. Glenn Mcgrath achieved this feat during the 2007 Cricket World Cup when he helped Australia win the World Cup by taking 26 wickets in just eleven games with an average of 13.73.

10. Shahid Afridi

Shahid Afridi was one of the greatest players to have played for Pakistan. He won the Player of the tournament in the 2007 ICC T20 World Cup. He achieved this feat by taking 12 wickets in the game and scoring 91 runs in 45 balls throughout the competition. However, Pakistan lost the finals against India, Afridi impressed everyone with his performance.