The test series between India and Australia have been named Border-Gavaskar Trophy since 1996. The series have been named such, in honour of eminent former batsmen of Indian and Australian teams, Allan Border and Sunil Gavaskar. We will now have a look at the batsmen who have scored the most runs in a single Border-Gavaskar Trophy series.

1. Steve Smith (2014-15)

Smith was the captain in the series. Like Kohli in this same series, Smith too scored 4 centuries. He scored a century in each match and was the most important reason why Australia won the first two matches and eventually, the series. He was adjudged the man of the series. Steve Smith scored 769 runs in the series.

2. Ricky Ponting (2003-04) 

Ponting was in a supreme form in this series. He scored a 242 in the second test and a 257 in the third test. Overall, he scored more than 700 runs and the series was a draw. Ricky Ponting scored 706 runs in the series.

3. Virat Kohli (2014-15)

Kohli captained the first match and the final match of the series. He led with example with his twin centuries in the first test, which almost fetched Indian team the victory. Overall, he scored four centuries in the series. Virat Kohli scored 692 runs in the series.

4. Michael Clarke (2011-12)

Michael Clarke was the captain of Australia in the series. Australia managed to whitewash the series and Clarke played a key role. Especially, in the Sydney test he scored 329* and also took a wicket. Clarke was the man of the series. Michael Clarke scored 626 runs in the series.

5. Rahul Dravid (2003-04)

The series was a 1-1 draw. In the one match that India managed to win, Dravid was a huge contributor. He scored a double hundred to make sure India were able to respond befittingly to Australia’s 556 and also scored an important half century in the second innings to make sure India reached the target safely. Dravid was the man of the series. Rahul Dravid scored 619 runs in the series.

6. Matthew Hayden (2001)

Australia had a close series and lost 1-2 in the end. Hayden scored a century in the match they won but more impressive was his double hundred in the Chennai test. This match was the match after the famous Kolkata test. He scored 203 only for the team to end up with 391. The match was a close defeat for Australia. Matthew Hayden scored 549 runs in the series.

7. Ricky Ponting (2011-12)

Australia hosted this Border-Gavaskar Trophy. They had a splendid series and Ponting managed to score a double hundred in one of the tests. He scored one more century too in the second test. Australia won the series 4-0. Ricky Ponting scored 544 runs in the series.

8. Cheteshwar Pujara (2018-19)

India toured Australia in 2018-19. India eventually managed to win the series 2-1 and it was the first time ever that India managed to win a test series in Australia. Cheteshwar Pujara contributed heavily in the series. He scored three hundreds, particularly the first one of them coming at a crucial juncture. The scores were relatively moderate in the first test and Pujara had a crucial contribution in India’s victory in the match. Pujara eventually won the man of the series award. Cheteshwar Pujara scored 521 runs in the series.

9. VVS Laxman (2001)

Australia had won 16 test matches in a row including the first test. In the second test, when Australia secured a 274-run lead and enforced follow-on, they looked well set to extend the streak. Here is where Laxman produced one of the most memorable innings in Indian cricket history. He scored 281 and along with Dravid, he ensured they set a huge target for Australia. Laxman also scored two half centuries in the final match. VVS Laxman scored 503 runs in the series.

10. Steve Smith (2017)

Steve Smith was not only Australia’s captain in the series but was also the best batsman in test cricket in the world at that point of time. He displayed that clearly during this series. Runs were very hard to come by, especially for Australia. However, Smith managed to show his class and scored 3 centuries in 4 tests.  Steve Smith scored 499 runs in the series.