One of the biggest joys in sports is winning the global events. But, not every team can achieve that. The Cricket world cup is the third-largest sporting event in the universe behind soccer’s Fifa world cup and the summer Olympic Games. Cricket is one of the most watched sports in the world. The cricket world cup is a world championship of one-day international cricket. The cricket world cup is known as the most prestigious title in cricket. Here are the Top 10 teams with the most number of cricket world cup wins:

1. Australia

Australia is the most successful team in the history of the cricket world cup. Compared to other teams, they have the most championship wins with five titles in 11 editions. They have played 90 matches and have won 67 of them. Australia has the highest winning rate amongst all the teams. The Aussies have named a strong squad for the upcoming cricket world cup in 2023 and look forward to defending the title.

2. India

Indian National Cricket Team will enter the 12th edition of the ICC World Cup next year as one of the top contenders for winning the title. So far, India has won in the year 1983 and 2011 editions of the tournament under Kapil Dev and M.S.Dhoni. The Blues have played 79 matches and won 50 games in the competition. It has been 11 years since India lifted the World cup. The team under the leadership of Rohit Sharma will look to bring the third trophy home. Their winning rate is the second best after Australia.

3. West Indies

Windies will progress to the 12th edition of the World cup. However, they have shown good form in the recent games in the tournament. They won the first two editions of the World Cup in 1975 and 1979 and became the only team to have won consecutive titles. They have played 77 matches and won 47 out of them. Windies have very talented players that can give a tough time to the players.

4. England

England has participated in all the World cups so far. Last year, they entered the tournament as the top-ranked ODI side and won the first World cup against New Zealand. They have played 84 games, winning 49 of them, and have a respectable record. However, they have not won many world cups, but they can become a threat to every team.

5. Pakistan

Pakistan squad has undergone three changes, and its pace and attack have been improved. Pakistan won their first World cup in 1992 against Australia. Pakistan got bowed out from the group stage in the 2019 World cup. However, they must stay focused if they intend to compete better in the upcoming World Cup. So far, they have won 45 matches out of 80. Babar Azam and his team need to improve their statistics in the upcoming World cup.

6. Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka is going through a transition, and a new skipper Dimuth Karunaratne will lead the team in the upcoming 2023 World cup. Karunaratne has not played an ODI match since the last world cup, but he is operating to get his shape back. The Lions won the 1996 World Cup and have 29 victories in 63 games they have played in the competition. Despite having a young team, their bowlers are excellent and can give strong competitiveness to the other players.

7. New Zealand

New Zealand is one of the most consistent sides in the history of cricket. The kiwis like to stay away from the media and focus on doing their job. Although they have not won any World cup, the black caps have an impressive winning rate in the tournament. They have won 52 matches out of 84 games. They are not the favorites, but they have the potential to surprise other teams.

8. South Africa

South Africa played their first World Cup in 1992. They are the unluckiest team in the history of cricket as they have failed to put a hand on the trophy after coming very close in the 1992 world cup final. Meanwhile, Proteas are a consistent team as they have won 39 matches in 61 games they have played in the competition. South Africa has a quality bowling attack and will rely on them to win their first World cup title.

9. Bangladesh

Bangladesh has named a relatively experienced squad for the showpiece event in the 2023 World Cup. Shakib-Al-Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Tamil Iqbal, and the skipper Mahmudullah will lead to their success. So far, the Tigers have managed to win only 14 matches out of 42 they have played in the competition and will be desperate to improve their record in the upcoming World cup.

10. Afghanistan

Afghanistan is the only team in the World cup that has only played just two editions of the tournament in 2015 and 2019. They have won only one game out of 15 matches played in the competition. But, Afghanistan holds the record for the highest ever T20I score of 278/3 against Ireland in 2019. They have qualified for the 2023 World cup, and their bowlers have so much potential and can disturb all the teams in the World cup.