India and Sri Lanka have a long and significant history of T20 international meetings, with both teams getting involved in entertaining battles over the years. India has frequently showcased their batting skill in these tough fights, posting big totals against its island opponents. This article will look at India's top ten highest T20 international scores vs Sri Lanka. These matches have seen some magnificent displays of batting efficiency, from power-packed opening pairs to brilliant individual efforts. Join us as we remember the top 10 highest totals by India against Sri Lanka in the shortest format of the game.

1. 260/5

The highest score in the history of T20I format by India, 260/5 came against Sri Lanka o 22nd December 2017. Thisara Perera of Sri Lanka won the toss and asked India to bat first in Indore. Skipper Rohit Sharma scored 118 off 43 balls, including twelve 4s and ten 6s. KL Rahul also played a fine knock of 89 off 49. MS Dhoni and Hardik Pandya scored 28 off 21 and 10 off 3, and took India to a mammoth total of 260. In reply, the visitors could only manage 172, and India won the match by 172 runs. The skipper Rohit Sharma was the MOTM for his heroic performance.

2. 228/5

The second-highest score by India against Sri Lanka came on 7th  January 2023. On a flat batting surface of Rajkot, India batted first. Shubman Gill played a fine knock of 46 off 36 balls after losing Ishan Kishan early in the innings. Rahul Tripathi also scored a brilliant 35 off 16. Suryakumar Yadav came in at no. 4 and made a terrific century, scoring 112* off 51 balls, including seven 4s and nine 6s. A fierce cameo by Axar Patel (21* off 9) helped India to score 228. In reply, the visitors could only manage 137, as India won the match by

3. 211/4

On 12th December 2009, Mohali became the host of the rivalry. Sri Lanka batted first and scored a big total of 206. In reply, Gautam Gambhir and Virender Sehwag got off to a fine start and scored 21 off 18 and 64 off 36, respectively. MS Dhoni played a brilliant knock of 46 off 28, followed by the six-hitting machine Yuvraj Singh, who scored 60* of 25 and won the match for India in the last over. The southpaw was the MOTM for his majestic innings and a fine spell of 3/23.

4. 201/6

On 10th January 2020, Pune played host to the rivalry between the two teams. India batted first and scored 201 runs. KL Rahul and Shikhar Dhawan scored 54 off 36 and 52 off 36, respectively, and provided a brilliant start to India. Manish Pandey, Virat Kohli, and Shardul Thakur scored 31 off 18, 26 off 17, and 22* off 8 to power India to 201. Shardul took two wickets with the ball and claimed the MOTM, as India won the match by 78 runs.

5. 199/2

Again, a fine total by India came in the first T20I on 24th February 2022. India batted first in Lucknow and played a fine innings. Rohit Sharma and Ishan Kishan opened the innings and scored 44 off 32 and 89 off 56, respectively. Ishan's innings comprised of ten 4s and three 6s. The no. 3 batter Shreyas Iyer scored 57 off 28, including five 4s.

6. 196/6

Sri Lanka toured India in 2016 and played the second T20I on 12th February. On a good batting surface of Ranchi, India batted first and scored a brilliant total of 196. Opener Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan played excellent knocks of 43 off 36 and 51 off 25, respectively, and set the tone for a fine total. Ajinkya Rahane, Suresh Raina, and Hardik Pandya contributed with 25, 30, and 27 runs, respectively, and powered their team to 196. In reply, the visitors could only score 127/9 and lost the match by 69 runs.

7. 190/8

190/8 was the total in a losing cause for India, as they failed to chase a target of 207. On a flat batting surface of Pune, the Indians started badly. The top three batters could add only 12 runs for their team. Suryakumar Yadav and Axar Patel fought back with grit and determination and scored 51 off 36 and 65 off 31, respectively, but could not get India over the line.

8. 186/3

The two teams met each other once again in one of the most beautiful cricket venues in the world, at Dharamsala. The visitors batted first and scored 183/5. Pathum Nissanka was the star performer, with 75 runs off 53 balls. In reply, Shreyas Iyer, Sanju Samson, and Ravindra Jadeja took India over the line after losing the openers cheaply. The three batters scored 74* of 44, 39 off 25, and 47 off 19, respectively. Iyer was the MOTM for his brilliant innings, which involved six 4s and four 6s.

9. 186/9

The first T20I at Nagpur was played on 9th December 2009. Sri Lanka batted first after losing the toss and scored a majestic total of 215 runs. Kumar Sangakkara was the top scorer with 78 runs off 37 balls. In reply, Gautam Gambhir and Virender Sehwag got off to a good start and scored 55 off 26 and 26 off 14, respectively. India could only manage 186 and lost the match by 29 runs.

10. 180/3

The first T20I at Cuttack was played on 20th December 2017. Sri Lanka won the toss and asked the hosts to bat first. India accepted the challenge gracefully and put an above-par total on the scoreboard. Skipper Rohit Sharma fell early, but KL Rahul kept his nerve and played a fine innings of 61 off 28 balls. Shreyas Iyer and MS Dhoni scored 24 off 20 and 39* off 22, respectively. The finishing touch was given by Manish Pandey, who scored 32* off 18. India won the match by 93 runs.