The India vs New Zealand ODI rivalry has been an exciting rivalry involving intense battles and memorable moments. Both cricketing nations have shown their capability in limited-overs cricket, creating a rivalry that has engaged the fans globally. From exciting chases to nail-biting finishes, the teams have consistently delivered high-octane performances. The rivalry has evolved over the years, with each encounter adding layers to the narrative. The two are the most competitive teams in the world. Let us look at the top 10 highest scores by India against New Zealand in the ODIs.

1. 397/4

397/4 is India's highest total in the ODIs against New Zealand. It was a big occasion as it was a semi-final of the World Cup 2023. India elected to bat first and put on a mammoth total of 397 on the scoreboard. Skipper Rohit Sharma gave a fantastic start, as he scored 47 off just 29 balls. Shubman Gill was not out at 80 at the end. Virat Kohli scored a brilliant 117 of the 113 balls, and broke Sachin Tendulkar’s record of 49 ODI centuries. Shreyas Iyer, too, smashed a brilliant 105, Including four boundaries and eight sixes. It was KL Rahul at the back end of the innings, who scored 39 off 20 balls to take India to a brilliant total of 397 in the semi-final.

2. 392/4

India’s second-highest total against New Zealand in the ODIs, 392/4, came on the 8th of March 2009. It was the third ODI of India's tour of New Zealand in which, India lost the toss and had to bat first. Sachin Tendulkar scored an unbelievable 163 off 133 balls, including sixteen 4s and five 6s. The no. 4 and 5 batters, Yuvraj Singh, and the skipper, MS Dhoni, scored 87 and 68, respectively. Suresh Raina played a blistering knock of 38 off just 18 balls to power India to 392.

3. 385/9

It was the third and final ODI of the New Zealand tour of India in January 2023. On a good batting surface of Indore, India batted first and scored a mammoth total of 385. Rohit Sharma, the skipper, scored 101 alongside Shubman Gill, who scored a blistering 112 off just 78 deliveries. Hardik Pandya, at the back end of the innings, scored 54 off just 38 alongside Shardul Thakur, who scored 25 off 17 to power India to 385 at the end of 50 overs. Thakur also took three wickets and claimed the MOTM as India won by 90 runs.

4. 376/2

On the 8th of November 1999, India and New Zealand played the second ODI of the series in Hyderabad. India won the toss on a good batting surface and elected to bat first. Sachin Tendulkar, the captain, scored a brilliant 186 of just 150 deliveries, including 20 fours and three sixes, followed by Rahul Dravid, who scored a brilliant 153 at a strike rate of 100, including four 15 fours and two 6s. Both powered India to a mammoth total of 376. In reply, the Kiwis could only manage a low score of 202 and, India won the match by 174 runs.

5. 353/5

On the 15th of November 2003, India and New Zealand played the ninth match of the TVS Cup in Hyderabad. India batted first and scored a big total of 353/5. Openers. Virender Sehwag and Sachin Tendulkar, together stitched a partnership of 182 runs. Sehwag scored a brilliant 130 off 134 balls, including 15 fours and two 6s, while Sachin Tendulkar, the master blaster, scored 102 of 91. Rahul Dravid was not out and played a brilliant innings of 50 of just 22 deliveries to power India to 353.

6. 349/8

Hyderabad has always been a good batting surface. Rohit Sharma won the toss on the 18th of January 2023, and decided to bat first. It was the first ODI, and India made a convincing score of 349. Skipper Rohit Sharma fell for 34, but his partner, Shubman Gill, scored a mammoth 208 of just 149 deliveries, including 19 fours and nine 6s. The young opener showcased his caliber on the big stage, and Hyderabad witnessed a player with immense self-belief. Contributions from Suryakumar Yadav (31) and Hardik Pandya (28) took India to 349.

7. 347/4

New Zealand elected to field first in the first ODI at Hamilton on the 5th of February, 2020. Opener Prithvi Shaw and Mayank Aggarwal scored 20 and 32, respectively. Skipper Virat Kohli, was dismissed by Ish Sodhi for 51. The middle-order played some positive cricket for India and took their team to 347. Shreyas Iyer smashed a great century (103 off 107), followed by KL Rahul and Kedar Jadhav, who scored 88* off 64 and 25* off 16, respectively. The hosts chased down 348 convincingly with 11 balls remaining.

8. 337/6

New Zealand elected to field first in the final ODI on the 29th of October 2017. It was the decider of the series. India batted first and put on a great score of 337 on the board. Opener Rohit Sharma alongside the no.3 batter and the skipper, Virat Kohli, stitched a 230-run partnership. Rohit scored 147 off 138, for which he was awarded the MOTM award, followed by Kohli, who scored 113 off 106. India won the match by six runs.

9. 324/4

The second ODI of the series between New Zealand and India took place at Mount Maunganui. India elected to bat first and scored 324/4. Consistent performances from the batting unit ensured that India got to a good total. Rohit Sharma scored 87 off 96 and was the MOTM. Shikhar Dhawan and Virat Kohli scored 66 and 43, respectively. India won the match by 90 runs.

10. 321/5

On the 7th of December 2010, India chased a total of 316 at Bengaluru. Gautam Gambhir led the side and scored 27 alongside Parthiv Patel, who scored 53. Contributions from Rohit Sharma (44 0ff 48), Yusuf Pathan (123 off 96), and Saurabh Tiwary (37 off 39) ensured a victory for India with seven balls remaining.