The West Indies is one of the gifted countries in the cricketing world. After their triumph in the 1975 and 1979 World Cup under the great Clive Llyod, the team was unstoppable. When it comes to the shortest format of the game, the West Indies is among the best teams. The nation holds two WCT20 titles unlike the any other team. The firepower with the bat in the team is second to none. The nation has produced T20 skippers like Darren Sammy, Kieran Pollard, Chris Gayle, and DJ Bravo. These players are absolute superstars in the shortest format. In this article, we will tell our readers about the top run getters as captains in T20Is for the West Indies.

1. Kieran Pollard

The right-handed powerful ball striker was in 1987. After his debut in 2008, the player has played 101 T20I matches for the West Indies. He can also be a handy right-arm medium bowler when needed. The player is also popular among the Indians due to his presence in the IPL. He captained his nation in the shortest format in 39 matches from 2019 to 2022. With the bat, he scored 666 runs as the leader of the team. He is known for his power-hitting skills with a striking rate of 135.03.

2. Chris Gayle

Popularly known as the “Universe Boss,” Chris Gayle was born in 1979. He is an opening left-handed batter for the West Indies. He was famous for his aggressive batting approach. His strength was to dominate the powerplay and to not let the bowlers settle. He was named the captain in 2007 and led the team in 17 matches scoring 490 runs in those matches. He also has a lot of fan base in India as he was a prominent part of the IPL, playing mostly for the RCB. In his T20I career, the southpaw has a strike rate of 137.51.

3. Nicholas Pooran

Nicholas Pooran is a wicket-keeper and a left-handed middle-order batter from Trinidad. Born in 1995, the batter has immense striking power and can dismantle any bowling attack. He made his T20I debut against Pakistan in 2016 and has been a regular inclusion in the squad ever since. Recently, the batter smashed 388 runs in the Major League Cricket in just eight games striking at 167.24. He became the skipper for the West Indies in 2021 and continued till 2022. In the 23 matches during this one year, he scored 438 runs. In his T20I career, he has a strike rate of 132.01.

4. Darren Sammy

He is one of the best captains the West Indies has ever produced. Darren Sammy is the mastermind behind the two famous T20 WC wins in 2012 and 2016. Under his leadership, the nation defeated Sri Lanka in the finals in 2012 and then England in 2016. After being appointed as the captain in 2011, he led the team in 47 T20I matches. The former West Indian all-rounder scored 394 runs as captain until 2016. He announced his international retirement from all forms of the game in 2017.

5. Carlos Braithwaite

“Carlos Braithwaite, remember the name;” the words of Ian Bishop when Braithwaite took the West Indies home on the night of the final in 2016. When 19 was needed in the last over, the batter hit four consecutive 6s off Ben Stokes and left England in disbelief. Born in 1988, Carlos was a former all-rounder who was named the captain in 2016 and led the team in 30 matches scoring 241 runs with the bat. His striking rate was 113.14 before he announced his retirement from all forms of the game in 2019.

6. Rovman Powell

Rovman Powell is a right-handed middle-order batter for the West Indies in the white ball formats. He possesses power-hitting ability and is considered one of the hardest hitters of the ball. He made his T20 debut against Pakistan in 2017 and has been a regular fit in the team ever since. He was given the responsibility of leading the T20 team in 2022 and he continues to be the captain. In 9 matches as captain, he has scored 219 runs at an average of 43. He has an impressive strike rate of 139.61 in his career.

7. Dwayne Bravo

Dwayne Bravo is one of the most entertaining players in the game. His T20 bowling skills followed by his amazing and unique dance celebrations are just a treat to watch. One of the most experienced players in the shortest format, the all-rounder was born in 1983 and made his T20I debut against New Zealand in 2006. Appointed with the responsibility of leading the team in 2007, he led the team in seven matches scoring 92 runs. He possesses death bowling skills, unlike any other bowler. He announced his IPL retirement in 2023 and was a key part of the CSK franchise.

8. Jason Mohammed

Born in 1986, Jason Mohammed was a former right-handed batter and an off-break bowler. He made his T20I debut against Pakistan in 2017 before his early retirement in 2018. He came into the international setup after some eye-catching performances in the CPL. He was named as the captain in 2018 and led the team in three matches, scoring 28 runs as captain.

9. Shivnarine Chanderpaul

The southpaw who revolutionized the batting with his unique stance and style of play was born in 1974. He was a former opening batter for the West Indies and was a player of quality. With his aggressive batting approach, he used to disturb the bowler’s rhythm. He was the captain of the T20I team for just one match and scored 26 runs.

10. Denesh Ramdin

Denesh Ramdin was a wicket-keeper and a right-handed middle-order bater for West Indies. Born in 1985, he made his test debut in 2006 against New Zealand. He was appointed as the captain in 2009 and led the team in three matches until 2010. He scored 23 runs as the captain of his nation in the shortest format.