It is a dream of almost every cricketer to win an ODI world cup for their country. Some get a chance to do so, while only a few are able to achieve it. Winning a 50-over world cup is probably considered the pinnacle of success in cricket. Several countries have won it so far, but Australia has done so a staggering five times!

Here, in this article, we look at some of the best Australian players in the 50-over world cups.

1. Ricky Ponting

Ricky Ponting, Australia’s two-time world cup winning captain and highest run-getter in international cricket, undoubtedly tops this list. Ponting holds the record for playing the most number of matches in ODI world cup history. He has played 46 matches and scored 1743 runs at an average of 45.86 and scored five centuries, the second highest. He featured in five world cups (1996–2011), an incredible feat for any cricketer.

2. Glen Mcgrath

When you think of the greatest fast bowlers of all time, Glen Mcgrath comes to mind right away. He is the most successful bowler in the history of the 50-over world cup, with 71 wickets to his name in 39 matches at an impressive average of 18.19 and an economy of 3.96. Also, his figures of 7 for 15 against Namibia in the 2003 World Cup are the best figures for any bowler in world cups. He got to represent Australia in four world cups (1996–2007).

3. Adam Gilchrist

Third on the list is Australia’s flamboyant opening batsman, Adam Gilchrist. This wicketkeeper batsman represented Australia in three world cups (1999, 2003, and 2007) and played 31 matches, scoring a total of 1085 runs at a strike rate of 98.01. He is one of those blessed players who have won the World Cup three times! In the 2007 world cup final, he scored the quickest hundred in a world cup final and was also the man of the match. Besides this, Gilchrist has 52 dismissals to his name as a wicketkeeper, the most by any wicketkeeper in world cups.

4. Mark Waugh

Mark Waugh, an elegant and stylish stroke maker, is next on the list. He was a delight to watch for anyone. He got to represent Australia in three world cups (1992, 1996, and 1999) and won two of them. As a batsman, he was par excellence and scored 1004 runs in 22 world cup matches at a fantastic average of 52.84. Besides this, he also has four world cup centuries to his name.

5. David Warner

David Warner, the pocket dynamite, comes next. Warner has only played in 18 World Cup matches so far, but his stellar record has earned him a spot on this list. He has amassed 992 runs at a remarkable average of 62 and a strike rate of 98.12. Having played only two world cups (2015 and 2019) till now, he has already scored four world cup hundreds.

6. Mitchell Starc

The Australian pace sensation and one of the quickest bowlers in world cricket, Mitchell Starc, is next on the list. This 32-year old has played only 18 world cup matches so far but is amongst the highest wicket-takers in world cup history. This speaks volumes of his ability as a bowler. He has taken 49 wickets at an impressive average of 14.81, the highest of any bowler in world cups.

7. Brett Lee

Another fast bowler to feature on the list is Brett Lee. Lee had express speed and a typical fast bowler’s attitude and could get on top of any batsman in the world when he was in rhythm. He played in three world cups (2003, 2007, and 2011) and got to feature in 17 matches. He picked up 35 wickets at an average of 17.97.

8. Mathew Hayden

Mathew Hayden, a tall, strong, and dashing opening batsman is next on the list. This left-hander from Queensland represented Australia in two world cups (2003 and 2007) and played an influential role in both of them, helping his team won it both the times. He scored 987 runs at an average of 51.94 and a strike rate of 92.93.

9. Steve Waugh

Steve Waugh, the twin brother of Mark Waugh, also features on the list. Steve provided great stability to the Australian middle-order. He played in four world cups (1987–1999) and also captained the team to victory in the 1999 edition. He amassed 978 runs in 33 world cup matches at an impressive average of 48.90.

10. Brad Hogg

Brad Hogg is the only spinner to make this list. He was unique for his time as there were not many “chinaman” types of bowlers in world cricket at that time. He played in two world cups (2003 and 2007) and picked up 34 wickets in 21 matches at an average of 19.23. It would be a surprise for many to see Hogg on this list and no Shane Warne. However, it is as it is; Hogg has earned this spot owing to his spectacular performances in world cups.