In cricket, many teams the bilateral series across all formats. But the ICC tournaments are unique as they are rare in cricket. Any T20 World Cup comes only once in 2 years, and one-day World Cup comes after every four years. This rarity of ICC tournaments makes it unique and that’s why every team wants to win ICC trophies for their nations. But some teams have not won any ICC trophies for decades. So, let’s look at the top ten teams and their last ICC trophies.

1. Australia, 2023 World Cup

Undoubtedly, Australia is the best cricket-playing nation as they have won the most ICC trophies in the history of cricket. Australia won their 1st ICC World Cup in 1987 when they beat England in the finals. After the 1996 World Cup, Australia dominated in every edition of the World Cup. They are the only team to win three consecutive World Cups. In cricket history, Australia has won ten ICC trophies, in which they won 6 one-day World Cups. Recently, Australia won the 2023 World Cup, which was hosted by India.

2. England, 2022 T20 World Cup

England is one of the most successful and dangerous teams in the world. Apart from the 2023 World Cup, England has always performed well in ICC trophies. After the 2015 World Cup, England decided to change their style of playing cricket. After that, England redefined white-ball cricket by playing aggressive cricket from the very 1st ball of the match. As a result, England won their first one-day World Cup in 2019. After the 2019 World Cup, England won their 2nd T20 World Cup in 2022, when they beat Pakistan in the finals. The 2022 T20 World was also the last ICC trophy won by England.

3. India, 2013 Champions Trophy

After 2013, India has not won any ICC trophy. It has been more than ten years without winning an ICC trophy. India has won five ICC trophies, which includes two one-day World Cup, 2 Champions trophy, and one T20 World Cup. In 2013, India beat England in the finals of the Champions Trophy and won the Champions Trophy. After winning the 2013 Champions trophy, India has always struggled to win knockout games like the semi-finals and finals of any ICC events. Recently, India reached the finals of the 2023 World Cup but failed to win the trophy.

4. West Indies, 2016 T20 World Cup

There was a time when the West Indie team used to be the most dangerous in the world. In the '70s and '80s era, West Indies was an unbeatable team. West Indies was the team that won the first two World Cups. After the advent of T20 World Cup, West Indies won their first-ever T20 World Cup in 2012 when they beat Sri Lanka in the finals. In total, West Indies have won 5 ICC trophies. West Indies won their last ICC trophy in the 2016 T20 World Cup, where Carlos Brathwaite smashed 4, winning six to Ben Stokes, and West Indies won the finals.

5. Sri Lanka, 2014 T20 World Cup

Sri Lanka used to be one of the strongest teams in the world as they had legendary players like Sangakkara, Jayawardene, Malinga, and Muralitharan. In 1996, Sri Lanka won their first-ever ICC World Cup. After that, Sri Lanka became the joint winner of the 2002 Champions Trophy. Despite reaching the finals in 2007 and 2011, Sri Lanka did not win the World Cup. Their chance came in 2014 when they beat India and won the T20 World Cup.    After 2015, Sri Lanka has struggled in major ICC tournaments. Currently, Sri Lanka is banned by the ICC due to regular Government Interventions.

6. New Zealand, 2021 WTC

New Zealand has always been one of the most underrated teams, but they have also been the most consistent in big tournaments like the World Cup. In 2015 and 2019, New Zealand reached the finals. In the year 2000, New Zealand won their first ICC trophy where they beat India in the finals. In the 2021 World Test Championship, New Zealand beat India in the finals and won the first World Test Championship trophy.

7. Pakistan, 2017 Champions Trophy

Pakistan has always been famous for producing great fast bowlers like Wasim Akram and Waqar Younis. So far, they have won three ICC trophies including a one-day World Cup, T20 World Cup, and the Champions Trophy. Under Imran Khan’s Captaincy, Pakistan won its first World Cup in 1992. After that, they won the 2009 T20 World Cup final against Sri Lanka. In 2017, Pakistan won their first-ever Champions Trophy when they beat India in the finals. After that, Pakistan has not won any trophy.

8. South Africa, 1998 Champions Trophy

South Africa has always been famous for choking in the ICC World Cups. No one can forget the tragedy which happened in the semi-finals of the 1999 World Cup. But South Africa has also won an ICC trophy. In the 1998 Champions trophy, which was the first edition of the Champions trophy. South Africa beat the West Indies in the finals and won their first and last ICC trophy. After 1998, South Africa has never won ICC tournaments as they usually choke in the big matches.

9. Bangladesh, 1997 ICC Trophy

Indeed, Bangladesh has not won any ICC tournament. Even though, Bangladesh has always been a dark horse in ICC World Cups, as they eliminated India in 2007 and England in the 2015 World Cup. In 1977, 22 teams played for the 1999 Cricket World Cup qualification tournament. Bangladesh won this tournament by beating Kenya in the finals, and Bangladesh qualified for their first ICC World Cup.

10. Afghanistan, 2018 World Cup Qualifier

Afghanistan is one of the emerging cricket-playing nations. In the 2023 World Cup, Afghanistan impressed every cricketing world by beating teams like England and Pakistan. Till now, Afghanistan has not won an ICC World Cup, they have won an ICC trophy. In 2018, ten countries participated in the Cricket World Cup qualification. In the finals, Afghanistan beat West Indies and won the ICC Cricket World Cup qualifier of 2019.