The Cricket World Cup is the most crucial international cricket competition. Teams, from all over the globe participate in it, run by the International Cricket Council (ICC), to win the most awaited title of world champions. The competition is contested once in four years, with the first event in 1975. One Day International (ODI) matches, in which each side has a specific number of overs to score runs and remove the opposition, are the format used for the World Cup. The competition typically lasts for weeks: a group stage, elimination rounds, and a championship match. The Cricket World Cup has significantly contributed to the development of cricket history and has given rise to renowned players who have irrevocably changed the game. It continues to be the ultimate cricketing event, creating spectacular moments and honoring the love for the game worldwide.

1. Zimbabwe

The team has never qualified for the world cup finals but has shown remarkable performance and brilliance. The team includes players, namely, A Flower and Taylor.  The group never won the race for the world cup but had qualified for the super six stages. It is the playoff to reach the semi–finale spot.  ICC barred the cricket team. In 2019, it was allowed to play the game at both levels.  Presently the test captain is – Sean Williams, the One Day Captain, and T20I – is Craig Ervine’s Coach – is Dave Houghton.

2. South Africa

The team had its first appearance in 1992.  It had reached the semi–finals in four occasions – 1992, 1999, 2007,2015. It never qualified for the finals. The team has star players like AB de Villiers, Jacques Kallis – the all-rounder, and Shaun Pollock. Players like David Miller, Faf du Plessis, and Dand ewald Brevis even play in the IPL and internationally.

3. Kenya

The team missed the race to finals by getting knocked out in the playoffs. It did reach the semi–finals once in 2003. Being, one of the host teams, it had its playoff with India, where India ultimately won.  The star players were – Steve Tikolo and Zaheer Khan. Some of the best players in the team include Shem Ngoche, Dhiren Gondaria, Ragheb, Gul Aga, David Obuya, Tanmay Mishra, Irfan Karim, Alex Ouma, Rakep Patel, and Collins Obuya.

4. New Zealand  

Hosted by both New Zealand and Australia, it took place in 2015. New Zealand ended the game as a runner-up with a total of 183. The second finals took place in 2019, hosted by England and Wales, too, where New Zealand ended as a runner-up with 241, though the match was a tie England won on a boundary count. The team had players – Grant Elliot, Kane Williamson, and others. One Day Captain, and T20I – Kane Williamson. Coach – Gary Stead.

5. Pakistan

The team made it to the finals twice, once emerging as a winner (1992) and runner-up (1999). The team captained by Imran Khan defeated England. The score was 249/6. The player who took the most wicket was Wasim Akram. Other players included Javed Miandad, Inzamam-ul Haq, and Aamer Sohail. Grant Bradburn is the new coach of Pakistan as of 2023.

6. Sri Lanka

The team appeared in the world cup finals a total of three times. Once being the winner (1996) and twice as a runner-up (2007,2011).  The team was led by Arjuna Ranatunga. They won by 245/3.  The Sri Lankan player Jayasuriya was termed the man of the match.  The other players included – Silva, Gand, and Arusha. The game did not extend much as the team completed the entire game in just three wickets and a phenomenal performance worth seeing.

7. West Indies

The team had three appearances throughout the world cup. Two times winner (1975,1979) and once a runner-up (1983). The team had the best players during that time who were fierce and brilliant, the team was such that none even visioned to defeat them. The outstanding players included – Clive Lloyd, Viv Richards, Malcolm Marshall, and Dujon Namely. The team had extreme confidence and won the first two cups with ease. Before India, the vision of the West Indies getting defeated couldn’t be thought of.

8. India

this team has also been to the finals twice (1983, 2011) and runners-up once (2003). both the world cup wins for India were a moment in themselves. Being led by the captains Kapil Dev and MS Dhoni, India outshined WI in its first win.  The team consisted of – Mohinder Amarnath, Sachin Tendulkar, Sunil Gavaskar, Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, and others. The win by Kapil Dev and Dhoni both got the same excitement, the tenure was such that each victory felt like the first one.

9. England

The team is the second highest in position to appear in the world cup finals – 4 times. with a one-time win (2019) and 3 times runner up (1979,1987,1992). Led by captain Eoin Morgan, they had a splendid win after the start of the World Cup. The players were – Moeen Ali, Tom Curran, and Ben Stokes among others. The present coach of the team is Brendon McCullum

10. Australia

Has the greatest number of appearances in the world cup finals seven times. Emerging as a winner most of the time five times (1987,1999,2003,2007,2015) created history till now in the world cup. They were led by some best players as captains during their journey – Allan Border, Steve Waugh, Ricky Ponting, and Michael Clarke.